New Categories for News Awards Announced

To encourage the news media to cover substantial issues currently impacting Long Island’s landscape, the Fair Media Council is introducing additional news categories in its annual Folio Awards for local news reporting.

The deadline to enter the awards is Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2017. The entry process is online only, via Stories entered into the Folio Awards for local news reporting must be focused, all or in part, on Long Island. The new categories are:

  • #SummerofHell
  • Healthcare Reform
  • Water Quality
  • Suburban Trends
  • Nonprofit News
  • Land Development
  • Higher Education
  • Addiction Coverage
  • Gang Violence
  • Historic Preservation
  • Technology and Innovation
  • Hunger
  • Farm-to-Table
  • Small Business News
  • Tourism
  • Millennial News
  • LGBTQ Rights
  • Cyberbullying
  • Multimedia Coverage (news and social media components of one story)
  • 2017 Long Island Story of the Year

“Categories are inspired by current events, and the policies driving such events,” said Jaci Clement, CEO and Executive Director of the Fair Media Council. “Additionally, working with FMC member organizations, we find important topics that need to be examined, and encourage the media to do that.”

The new categories are in addition to the Folio Awards standard news categories, which were expanded last year to include Watchdog news, Public Service, Public Policy, Animal Welfare, Disability, Immigration, and the Hartman Award for Religious Reporting.

Updates and entry information will be available soon at


Scroll to Top